Luminaries awarded UCSF Medal


Awarded annually, the UCSF Medal replaces the granting of honorary degrees and is bestowed on individuals who have attained preeminence in an area that is in support of UCSF's mission. I am very pleased to announce the 2011 UCSF Medal recipients:

  • His Highness the Aga Khan, 49th hereditary Imam (spiritual leader) of the Shia Ismaili Muslims, Founder and Chairman of the Aga Khan Development Network, and Chancellor of the Aga Khan University

  • Dr. Elizabeth Blackburn, Nobel Laureate and Morris Herzstein Endowed Chair in Biology and Physiology in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at UCSF

  • Dr. Marvin H. Sleisenger, Emeritus Professor of Medicine and Distinguished Physician, Department of Veterans Affairs

To learn more about the history of the UCSF Medal and the 2012 nominating process, please visit my web site at

Please join me in congratulating our esteemed 2011 recipients on their extraordinary contributions to human health and well-being.


Susan Desmond-Hellmann, MD, MPH
Arthur and Toni Rembe Rock Distinguished Professor